Connected Backup Solution

 Download: Connected Quick Start Guide

 Frequency of Backups

You may back up your data as often as you like, as long as your computer is turned on and connected to the Internet. The easy-to-use Connected Backup PC/AgentTM Backup Wizard lets you set days and times for your backup to automatically happen.

Back to top

 Duration of First Backup

Typically, a backup of 100mb can take from 10 minutes to 15 minutes. Each successive backup thereafter will take less than 6 minutes because only the incremental changes need to be compressed, encrypted and backed up. However, you can check email or perform other computing activities while your backup takes place.

Back to top

 Confirmation of Backup

The easiest way to confirm that your backups are taking place is to check the logs. Here's how:

  • Open the Connected Backup PC/Agent software.
  • Click the History button on the left hand side.
  • Double click the event for any session that you want and then click the View button (bottom of window).

Each log lists every file that was backed up, and ends with a summary of the backup session.

Back to top

 Data that Can and Cannot be Backed-up

The Connected Backup PC/Agent service is intended to protect your critical data files, not the commercial software that you install from disk or CD. If you were to have a system crash you would be better off re-installing your software so that essential information could be written back into the Windows registry database that is part of your operating system.
We recommend that you not back up multi-media files. Their size and sheer volume would make it costly and lengthy to restore via the Internet. Network shares cannot be backed up.

Back to top

 Retention Policy for Files

  • The most recent 10 versions of each file backed up are retained on the Data Centers for 90 days.
  • Files you delete from your computer are retained on the Data Centers for 90 days.
  • Files you de-select from your backup set are retained on the Data Centers for 7 days.
  • Any files that are not changed in the 90 day back up will not be backed up.  However; Connected will keep the most recent backed up file until the account is canceled.

Back to top

 Selecting and Deselecting Files in a Backup Set

When you click the Backup Set tab, a scan of your hard disk is initiated. Upon completion, a list of files needing backup is displayed. To de-select files:

  • Click the box in front of a file name
  • A black check will be displayed, that indicates the file or entire folder and contents below it will be backed up.
  • If there is a partial check, half the box is filled in, that indicates that some files or folders will be backed up.

Back to top

 Deleting Files from Storage

File management is automatic. Connected Corporation maintains the following data retention settings on our Data Centers for Subscription Service customers:

  • Files older than 10 versions or 90 days are deleted, but your most recent version is always kept.
  • Files that have been deleted from your system will be deleted from the Data Centers 90 days later.
  • Files that you backed up then de-selected from your backup set will be deleted after 7 days.

Back to top

 Locating Backed-up Data

When you open your account, it is assigned to a mirrored pair of Data Centers that are geographically separate. Since the Data Centers are identical, backups and restores can be made to or from either one of them. The software automatically handles the connection for you. The redundancy of a mirrored pair increases the security of your stored data. Additionally, the Data Centers are themselves backed up. Further, duplication permits maintenance to be performed without interrupting the service.

Back to top

 Retrieving Data Using the Client

  • Open the Retrieve tab. If prompted for your account password, enter it.
  • In the Show Versions list, select how you want the Agent to show your backed-up files in this tab:
    • Most Recent — Show only files backed-up during the most recent backup
    • As of Backup Date — Show only files backed up on a specific date
    • All — Show all versions of your backed-up files
  • Click Find to locate a specific folder or file, or browse to select a folder or file. Only folders containing backed-up files appear in this tab.
  • To view a folder’s content, either select the folder in the left pane or double-click the folder in the right pane. The folder’s content displays in the right pane.
  • To select a folder or file to retrieve, click the check box next to that item. A green check mark ( check ) appears.
  • Click Retrieve.
  • In the Retrieve options window, select where to save the retrieved files and how to handle duplicate file names if retrieving more than one version of the same file. You can retrieve files to their original location, or to a selected folder. In the latter case, you can select to retain the file’s original folder structure within the selected folder.
  • Click Retrieve.

Back to top

 Retrieving Data from the Web

  • Log onto your personal account at this URL:  https://myaccount-gh.connected.com/ssws/faces/login.jsp?comId=6166  
  • Click on Retrieve Files with MyRoam
  • In the Show Versions list, select which files you want to show in the window below:
    • Most Recent — Show only files backed-up during the most recent backup
    • As of Backup Date — Show only files backed up on a specific date
    • All — Show all versions of your backed-up files  
  • Click Find to locate a specific folder or file, or browse to select a folder or file. Only folders containing backed-up files appear in this window.
  • Select the files or folders you want to restore.
  • Click Retrieve.
  • You will see a summary of the files you selected for retrieval.
  • Click Continue – the files will be compressed into a zip file.
  • Click Download to download the zipped file.

Back to top

Last modified: September 26, 2008

© 2014 The President and Fellows of Harvard College. All rights reserved.