Religious Accommodation in the Age of Civil Rights

Thursday, April 3 - Saturday, April 5, 2014

Harvard Law School

Co-sponsored by Harvard Law School, Williams Institute, ACLU, and USC Center for Law, History and Culture 

Event Details

Current controversies over marriage equality, antidiscrimination law, and the Affordable Care Act’s contraceptive mandate have raised conflicts between religious claims, on one hand, and LGBT equality and women’s rights, on the other. The conference seeks to deepen our understanding of the competing claims by bringing together nationally recognized scholars in the fields of sexuality, gender, and law and religion.

Click here for your free registration.

If you can't attend the conference in person you can watch the live stream here. Video of individual sessions will also be posted a few days after the conference is over.

Follow the conversation on Twitter with hashtag #RAACR.

There is no conference hotel, and no special rates at local hotels are available through this conference.


Public Lecture: Accommodation Emerged
Thursday, April 3, 6:30 – 8:30 pm
WCC 2019, Milstein West A

  • Panelists: Michael McConnell, Louise Melling, Martha Minow, Mark Tushnet
  • Chair: Jack Rakove

Session 1: The Current Clash
Friday, April 4, 9:15 – 10:35 am
WCC 2036, Milstein East A

  • Panelists: Frederick Gedicks, Michael Helfand, Nan Hunter, Martin Lederman
  • Chair: Brad Sears

Session 2: Reflections on the Right to Religious Accommodation
Friday, April 4, 10:45 am – 12:05 pm
WCC 2036, Milstein East A

  • Panelists: Richard Garnett, Sarah Barringer Gordon, Andrew Koppelman, Nelson Tebbe
  • Chair: Nancy Rosenblum

Session 3: Reflections on Sexual and Gender Equality
Friday, April 4, 1:30 – 2:50 pm
WCC 2036, Milstein East A

  • Panelists: Caroline Mala Corbin, Douglas NeJaime, Reva Siegel, Kenji Yoshino
  • Chair: David Codell

Session 4: Complexifying Religious Accommodation
Friday, April 4, 3:05 – 4:25 pm
WCC 2036, Milstein East A

  • Panelists: Anita Allen, Malick Ghachem, John Inazu, Nomi Stolzenberg
  • Chair: Sandy Levinson

Session 5: Complexifying Accommodation in Anti-Discrimination Law
Friday, April 4, 4:40 – 6:00 pm
WCC 2036, Milstein East A

  • Panelists: Mary Anne Case, Chai Feldblum, Doug Laycock, Steven Smith
  • Chair: Ira "Chip" Lupu

Session 6: Accommodation in the Age of the Withering Welfare State
Saturday, April 5, 9:15 – 10:35 am
WCC 2036, Milstein East A

  • Panelists: Thomas Berg, Ilan Meyer, Melissa Murray, Elizabeth Sepper
  • Chair: Intisar Rabb

Session 7: Looking Ahead
Saturday, April 5, 10:50 am – 12:10 pm
WCC 2036, Milstein East A

  • Panelists: William Eskridge, Katherine Franke, Priscilla Ocen, Alison Renteln
  • Chair: Abner Greene


  • Anita Allen, University of Pennsylvania Law School
  • Tom Berg, University of St. Thomas School of Law (Minnesota)
  • Mary Anne Case, University of Chicago Law School
  • Caroline Mala Corbin, University of Miami Law School
  • William Eskridge, Yale Law School
  • Chai Feldblum, EEOC
  • Katherine Franke, Columbia Law School
  • Richard Garnett, Notre Dame Law School
  • Frederick Gedicks, BYU Law School
  • Malick Ghachem, MIT
  • Sarah Barringer Gordon, University of Pennsylvania Law School
  • Abner Greene, Fordham Law School
  • Michael Helfand, Pepperdine Law School
  • Nan Hunter, Georgetown University Law Center
  • John Inazu, Washington University Law School
  • Andrew Koppelman, Northwestern University Law School
  • Douglas Laycock, University of Virginia Law School
  • Martin Lederman, Georgetown University Law Center
  • Sandy Levinson, University of Texas Law School
  • Ira "Chip" Lupu, George Washington University Law School
  • Michael McConnell, Stanford University Law School
  • Louise Melling, ACLU
  • Ilan Meyer, Williams Institute, UCLA
  • Martha Minow, Harvard Law School
  • Melissa Murray, UC Berkeley Law School
  • Douglas NeJaime, UC Irvine Law School
  • Priscilla Ocen, Loyola LA Law School
  • Intisar Rabb, Harvard Law School
  • Alison Dundes Renteln, University of Southern California
  • Reva Siegel, Yale Law School
  • Elizabeth Sepper, Washington University Law School
  • Steven Smith, University of San Diego Law School
  • Nomi Stolzenberg, USC Law School
  • Nelson Tebbe, Brooklyn Law School
  • Mark Tushnet, Harvard Law School
  • Kenji Yoshino, NYU Law School
Last modified: April 02, 2014

© 2014 The President and Fellows of Harvard College. All rights reserved.