The Graduate Program

Graduate Program Handbook, 2013-2014

 

Welcome to the Harvard Law School Graduate Program.  This handbook contains important information on academic requirements, Graduate Program policies, financial matters and general Law School information. Please retain this booklet for reference throughout the year.

The Graduate Program is the division of Harvard Law School responsible for the Master of Laws (LL.M.) and the Doctor of Juridical Science (S.J.D.) degrees, and for various aspects of graduate legal studies, including the Visiting Scholar and Visiting Researcher program. A centerpiece of Harvard Law School’s internationalization of its student body, faculty, and curriculum, members of the Graduate Program constitute a vibrant academic community noted for its diversity of interests and backgrounds.

Through our degree programs, we are training the next generation of leaders in academia, private practice, government, and non-profit and non-governmental organizations worldwide. In our other activities, and in conjunction with International Legal Studies, we promote awareness of foreign law and legal systems among faculty, students, and alumni, both at the Law School and elsewhere at Harvard University.

ADMINISTRATION

FACULTY DIRECTOR
Professor William Alford
Vice Dean for the Graduate Program and International Legal Studies
Director, East Asian Legal Studies Program
Chair, Harvard Law School Project on Disability
Austin 309, (617) 495-4693
alford@law.harvard.edu

ADMINISTRATORS

Ms. Jeanne Tai
Assistant Dean for the Graduate Program and International Legal Studies
WCC 5005, (617) 496-4849
jtai@law.harvard.edu

Ms. Catherine Peshkin
Director, Admissions and Financial Aid
WCC 5005, (617) 496-4227
cpeshkin@law.harvard.edu

Ms. Nancy Pinn
Director, Administration and Student Affairs
WCC 5005, (617) 384-8302
npinn@law.harvard.edu

Dr. Jane Fair Bestor
Special Assistant to the Graduate Program
WCC 5005, (617) 384-9537
jbestor@law.harvard.edu

Ms. Heather Wallick
Assistant Director, Admissions and Financial Aid
WCC 5005, (617) 495-3060
hwallick@law.harvard.edu

Ms. Sara Zucker
Director, International Legal Studies Programs
WCC 5005, (617) 495-9030
szucker@law.harvard.edu

Ms. Alicia Clemente
Program Officer, International Legal Studies
WCC 5005, (617) 496-8732
aclemente@law.harvard.edu

Ms. Shona Simkin
Communications Manager, Graduate Program and International Legal Studies
WCC 5005, (617) 496-9490
ssimkin@law.harvard.edu

STAFF

Ms. Emma Johnson
Staff Assistant to Professor Alford
Austin 309, (617) 495-4627
johnson@law.harvard.edu

Ms. Melissa Bergsten
Staff Assistant, Admissions and Financial Aid, and Assistant to Jeanne Tai
WCC 5005, (617) 384-7522
mbergsten@law.harvard.edu

Ms. Ashley Kliefoth
Administrative Coordinator and LL.M. Program Assistant
WCC 5005, (617) 496-8210
akliefoth@law.harvard.edu

Ms. Christine Papandrea
Admissions and Financial Aid Administrator
WCC 5005, (617) 496-8799
cpapandrea@law.harvard.edu

Ms. Naomi Schaffer
Administrative Coordinator and S.J.D. Program Assistant
WCC 5005, (617) 496-2873
nschaffer@law.harvard.edu

GRADUATE PROGRAM FELLOWS

The Graduate Program Fellows coordinate a variety of academic programs and colloquia, which are presented throughout the year. They also conduct course counseling and academic advising for LL.M. students. The current Graduate Program Fellows for the academic year 2013-2014 are listed below. Others may be added over the course of the year.

Byse Fellows
Yonatan Arbel
Heidi Matthews

Teaching Assistants, LL.M. Writers’ Workshop
Saptarishi Bandopadhyay
Deval Desai
Hedayat Heikal
Mohamed Helal
Yotam Kaplan
Jacobe Kastiel
Yaron Nili

Coordinators, Workshop for Short Writing Projects
Netta Barak Corren
Rana Elkahwagy

LL.M. Advisors
Opeyemi Akande
Guillermo Garcia Sanchez
Talia Gillis
Afroditi Giovanopoulou
Regina Larrea Maccise
Michele Materni
Noam Noked
Priyasha Saksena
Roy Shapira
Konstantin Tretyakov
Ying Xia

Graduate Forum Coordinators
Aminu Hassan Gamawa
Joanna Noronha

Law Teaching Colloquium Coordinator
Claire Houston

Teaching Assistants, Legal Research, Writing and Analysis
Claire Houston
Lisa Kelly
Heidi Matthews
Roy Shapira

Visiting Scholar/Visiting Researcher Colloquium Coordinators
Nadav Orian Peer
Gustavo Ribeiro

COMMITTEE ON GRADUATE STUDIES

The Committee on Graduate Studies is responsible for academic policy and admissions for the Graduate Program. The Committee also oversees the application of program policies and regulations in consultation with the program administrators and staff. The members of the 2013-2014 Committee on Graduate Studies will be appointed in September.

Last modified: September 12, 2014

© 2014 The President and Fellows of Harvard College. All rights reserved.