Sharon B. Jacobs

Climenko Fellow and Lecturer on Law



Sharon Jacobs’s primary research interests lie at the intersection of administrative, energy and environmental law.  Her current research focuses on unconventional regulatory strategies in areas such as electricity demand, resource protection and pollution control.

Ms. Jacobs earned her J.D., cum laude, from Harvard Law School, where she received the Irving Oberman Memorial Award for best administrative law paper and served as Executive Articles Editor of the Harvard Law and Policy Review. After graduation, Ms. Jacobs practiced for three years at Covington & Burling LLP in Washington, D.C., where she divided her time between the energy and environmental regulatory groups and the general litigation group. Before entering law school, Ms. Jacobs was a professional cellist and earned degrees in music performance from Juilliard and the Cleveland Institute of Music.


  • The Administrative State's Passive Virtues, 66 Administrative Law Review __ (forthcoming June 2014)
  • Bypassing Federalism in the Regulation of Electricity Demand (in progress)
  • Crises, Congress, and Cognitive Biases: A Critical Examination of Food and Drug Legislation in the United States, 64 Food & Drug Law Journal 599 (2009)
  • On the Mend: The Ninth Circuit Gives San Francisco's Health Care Security Ordinance the Green Light (For Now), 36 Journal of Law, Medicine & Ethics 431 (2008)

Selected Presentations

  • Bypassing Federalism in the Regulation of Electricity Demand, Colloquium on Environmental Scholarship at Vermont Law School (October 2013)
  • Demand Response, University of Pittsburgh School of Law 2013 Energy Law & Policy Institute (August 2013)
  • Regulating Negawatts, University of Washington Junior Environmental Law Scholars Workshop (July 2013)
  • Teaching Environmental Law to Undergraduates and High School Students, University of Oregon School of Law Public Interest Environmental Law Conference (February 2013)


Griswold 103


Assistant: Karen Thomas / 617-496-8455

© 2014 The President and Fellows of Harvard College. All rights reserved.