社会和政治理论

1. 《知识与政治》(Knowledge and Politics)(书籍,1975)

《知识与政治》这本书出版于1975年,是我的第一本书,下附全文。这本书对一整套政治、道德和认识论假设进行分析和批判,而我认为这套假设是现代思想的基础。尽管《知识与政治》年代久远,在形式和内容上都与我如今的作品不尽相同,但它所探讨的思维和政治问题时至今日我依然十分关注。建议读者首先阅读我1983年撰写的附言;这篇附言揭示了我后来作品所涉及的诸多主题。


2. 《社会学理论讲演录》(Lectures on Social Theory)(书籍,1976)

这本书中的笔记是我在1976年春季在哈佛大学教授关于“经典社会学理论”的一门课时准备的。这门课主要涉及马克思(Marx)、涂尔干(Durkheim)和韦伯(Weber)的思想。读者可以从这本书中理解网站本部分所涉及的社会学思想其实是在与这些思想家进行思维交锋的过程中形成的。为抓住当下变革的时机,似乎有必要沿着他们的方向继续推进,即使要以推翻很多与他们作品相关的假设、方法和观点为代价,也依然如此。


3. 《社会理论:现状与任务》(Social Theory: Its Situation and Its Task)(书籍,1987年)

这本书是政治学系列书籍的第一卷,后续还有《虚假的需要》(False Necessity)和《弹性权力》(Plasticity into Power),这两本书全文网站也有收录。2004年,Verso出版社推出了这三本书的新版平装本。

我的社会学理论选集《政治学:核心文章选》(Verso,1997)由崔之元先生编辑并引进,内容涵盖了以上三本书中的精华内容。如需订购这本选集,请前往本网站“我的书籍”部分。

《社会理论:现状与任务》这本书是为发展一种社会学思考方式的基础,这种思考方式能抗拒将现实等同于必须实现的状况的思维。针对这种思维,这本书忽略当代社会科学各学科的区别,与其权威进行争论。这本书与政治学系列书籍中的主要作品《虚假的需要》一书的最新版序言有直接关联。

《社会理论:现状与任务》一书有四个主题,犹请读者注意:对转变志业的探讨(26-35页);对经典社会学理论和当代社会科学的批判,这两者不够激进,没有认同“这都是政治”(80-164页);对比实现我提出的思维方案的两种方式,一种接受这种思维模式,一种则拒绝综合理论(165-169页);分析关于需要和偶然性的假设,这些假设是我的论据(170-199页)。我并没有选择与科学方法对立,而是运用自然科学来论证这些假设。


4. 《虚假的需要》(False Necessity)(书籍,2002)

下附新版《虚假的需要》(Verso出版社,2002)全文。2004年曾出版一套平装版《虚假的需要》、《社会理论:现状与任务》以及《弹性权力》。《虚假的需要》是我政治学书籍中的核心作品。《社会理论:现状与任务》先于它出版,而《弹性权力》则后于它出版,在本网站“实际进展的制度现状”部分有《虚假的需要》的部分章节。《虚假的需要》既提出了解释社会的一种方法,也提出了改变社会的一种构想。社会解释理论设计了一种马克思主义的激进替代品,说明我们可以在不否认偶然性也不拒绝自由的前提下解释已取得的社会安排。而改变社会的构想则针对新自由主义和社会民主主义这种当下主导意识形态概念提出了渐进的备选方案:一系列制度创新,以使市场民主化,深化民主制度,并赋予个人权力。

读者可以通过阅读新版书籍中的引言部分,来把握这本厚书的主旨。这一引言部分将“虚假的需要”这一概念作为制度和政治可能性中的一部分进行呈现;第一章(1-40页)概述了解释社会和改变社会的构想这两个主题,并将其联系起来;第四章的前半部分(172-245页)展现了当代各种制度的替代谱系,这种谱系承认偶然性;第四章的后半部分(277-331页)探讨了否定能力及其与路径依赖的关系;第五章的核心部分(441-539页)提出了一种特殊的制度构想;第五章总结部分探讨了这一构想的精神所在(570-595页)。


5. 《宗教与政治论文集》(Theses on Religion and Politics) (附件,共11页,1994)


6. 《弹性权力》(Plasticity into Power)(书籍,1987)

《弹性权力:经济及军事成功之制度条件的比较历史研究》(Plasticity into Power: Comparative Historical Studies in the Institutional Conditions of Economic and Military Success)这本书是政治系列书籍的部分。这本书是1988年首次出版,不久之后Verso出版社还将再次出版。本书通过比较历史研究,探索了我社会理论作品中的主要理念:制度安排和偶发事件的实际优势和道德优势,这些优势促使其改变自身。

2004年,Verso出版社出版了新版《弹性权力》平装本,同时出版了《虚假的需要》和《社会理论:现状与任务》。如需订购这本书,请前往本网站“我的书籍”部分。


7. 《政治学:核心文章选》(Politics: The Central Texts)(书籍,1997)

《政治学:核心文章选》(崔之元编辑,1997)系统挑选了一些我的社会理论作品。这些文章是从三本政治学书籍中挑选出来的——《社会理论:现状与任务》、《虚假的需要》和《弹性权力》。编辑对这些文章的编排,有助于人们研究这些理念。崔之元先生是中国左派知识分子的领袖。


8. 《剑桥大学演讲集:第二条路》(The Boutwood Lectures: The Second Way

2002年1月,我在剑桥大学科珀斯克里斯蒂学院进行演讲,下附当时两场演讲的录音听写稿。

第一场演讲批判了欧洲社会民主,为北大西洋各国的革新提出了一种方案,使之得以重新开始已经停止的社会民主进程。第二场演讲探索了这一事业的风险,其要面临的困难以及通过哪些方法可以从这一事业中发展出能量和权威。第二场演讲探讨了一种世界秩序安排的问题——不同的全球化——这一秩序可以有好对待发展方向不同的各种人类政权。它探讨了一种社会、政治和分析的实践方式,这种方式没有受到当下合理化的不良影响。它提出了一种道德规范,既不是英雄主义的,也不反对英雄主义,但这种规范承认且培育了普通人心中的受挫的热情。

第二条路让我们有机会一点一点、一步一步重新想象我们想成为什么样的人,并重新塑造自己。这条路可以让我们不只依赖灾难的发生来推动变革。这条路之所以很吸引人,是因为它让我们看到,在一个物质进步的现状与制度对削弱根深蒂固的社会分工和社会等级的要求之间错综复杂的区域内,我们也有希望前进。第二条道路这一方案的近期目标是能让社会进一步开放,迎接民主与经验主义。其最终目标则是人类的进一步神圣化。


9. 《潜在的差异》(The Hidden Difference)

《潜在的差异》中记录了我和查尔斯·萨贝尔(Charles Sabel)教授现在在进行的一个项目中涉及的猜想。为什么当代有些社会既可以在市场为导向的经济下取得成功,也可以在统制经济模式下取得成功,而另一些国家则无论采取哪种模式都会陷入混乱?这个问题让我开始重新思考一些关于世俗成功的制度和文化基础的主要假设。修订这些前提,会为方案的设想提供更稳固的基础。

Social and Political Theory

  1. Knowledge and Politic
  2. Lectures on Social Theory
  3. Social Theory: Its Situation and Its Task
  4. False Necessity
  5. Theses on Religion and Politics
  6. Plasticity into Power
  7. Politics: The Central Texts
  8. The Boutwood Lectures: The Second Way
  9. The Hidden Difference

1. Knowledge and Politics (Book, 1975)

"Knowledge and Politics," the full text of which you can find below, was my first book, published in 1975. It presents an analysis and a criticism of what I took to be a set of political , moral, and epistemological assumptions underlying much of modern thought. Although "Knowledge and Politics" is distant, in form as well as in content, from my present work, it explores intellectual and political concerns that have continued to hold me in their grip. I suggest beginning with the Postscript of 1983; it anticipates many of the themes of my subsequent writings.


2. Lectures on Social Theory (Book, 1976)

These notes were prepared for a course on "classical social theory" I gave in Harvard College in the Spring of 1976. The course addressed mainly Marx, Durkheim, and Weber. The notes suggest how much of the project of social thought documented in this section of the website was inspired by a struggle with the ideas of these thinkers. To seize the transformative opportunities of the present moment, it seemed necessary to push forward in the direction they had taken, even at the cost of repudiating many of the assumptions, methods, and claims with which their work had come to be associated


3. Social Theory: Its Situation and Its Task(Book, 1987)

As the first volume in the Politics series, this book was followed by "False Necessity" and "Plasticity into Power" both of which are also available in full in this website. It has been published in a new paperback edition by Verso in 2004 together with "False Necessity" and "Plasticity into Power."

Ample selections from all three of these books are included in the one-volume anthology of my social theory work, edited and introduced by Zhiyuan Cui, "Politics: the Central Texts" (Verso 1997). To order this anthology go to the "my books" section of this website.

"Social Theory: Its Situation and Its Task" lays the groundwork for the development of a way of thinking about society that can resist the identification of what happened with what must be. The argument of the book addresses this task in a manner that contests the authority of the contemporary social sciences and discounts the distinctions among them. A direct line leads from this book to the introduction to the new edition of "False Necessity," the major work of the Politics series.

There are four themes in "Social Theory: Its Situation and Its Task" to which I draw the reader's particular attention: the discussion of the transformative vocation (pp. 26-35), the criticism of both classic social theory and contemporary social science as inadequately radical in recognizing that "it's all politics" (pp. 80-164), the contrast between two ways of realizing the intellectual program I propose, one embracing and the other eschewing comprehensive theories (pp. 165-169), and the analysis of the assumptions about necessity and contingency on which ny argument rests (pp. 170-199). Rather than antagonizing scientific method, I enlist natural science in the defense of these assumptions.


4. False Necessity(Book, 2002)

Here is the full text of the new edition of "False Necessity" (Verso 2002). A paperback version was published in 2004 together with "Social Theory: Its Situation and Its Task" and "Plasticity into Power." "False Necessity" is the central work of my Politics books. It was preceded by "Social Theory: Its Situation and Its Task" and followed by "Plasticity into Power," available in the part of this website called "the institutional conditions of practical progress." "False Necessity" presents both a way of explaining society and a program for changing it. The explanation develops a radical alternative to Marxism, showing how we can account for established social arrangements without denying their contingency or our freedom. The program offers a progressive alternative to the now dominant ideological conceptions of neoliberalism and social democracy: a set of institutional innovations that would democratize markets, deepen democracies, and empower individuals.

The reader can master the gist of the argument of this long book by reading the introduction to the new edition, which presents the ideas of "False Necessity" as a subset of a larger family of intellectual and political possibilities; Chapter 1 (pp. 1-40), which outlines and connects the explanatory and programmatic themes; the first half of Chapter 4 (pp. 172-245), which presents an alternative, contingency-recognizing genealogy of contemporary institutions; the sections of the second half of Chapter 4 (pp. 277-331) that discuss the idea of negative capability and its relation to path dependency; the core of Chapter 5 (pp. 441-539), which advances a particular institutional program; and the concluding discussion in Chapter 5 of the spirit of this program (pp. 570-595).


5.Theses on Religion and Politics (Appendix, 11 pages, 1994)


6. Plasticity into Power (Book, 1987)

The complete text of "Plasticity into Power: Comparative Historical Studies in the Institutional Conditions of Economic and Military Success," which forms part of the Politics series. The book was originally published in 1988 and is to be republished by Verso in the near future. It explores, in comparative historical detail, an idea that plays a major role in my social-theoretical writings: the idea of the practical as well as the moral advantages of institutional arrangements and discursive practices that facilitate their own revision.

"Plasticity into Power" was published by Verso in a new paperback edition in 2004 together with "False Necessity" and "Social Theory: Its Situation and Its Task." To order this book go to the "my books" section of this website.


7. Politics: The Central Texts (Book, 1997)

Politics: The Central Texts (edited by Zhiyuan Cui, 1997) offers an organized selection of my social-theory writings. The passages are drawn from the three books of Politics -- Social Theory: Its Situation and Its Task, False Necessity, and Plasticity into Power. The editor has organized them in a way faciltating study of this body of ideas. Zhiyuan Cui is a leader of the leftist intelligenstia in China.


8. The Boutwood Lectures: The Second Way

I gave the Boutwood Lectures in January 2002 at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge University. You can access below the recorded typescript of these two lectures.

The first lecture presents a criticism of European social democracy and offers a program for the reformation of the North Atlantic societies that would continue where contemporary social democracy has stopped. The second lecture explores the stakes in this undertaking, the obstacles it must confront, and the sources from it can derive energy and authority. This second lecture addresses the arrangements of a world order -- a different globalization -- friendly to the development of the powers of humanity in contrasting directions. It discusses the practice of a style of social, political, and analysis untainted by the rationalization of present reality. It proposes an ethic neither heroic nor antiheroic, recognizing and nurturing the frustrated intensity of ordinary men and women.

The opening up of the second way provides an occasion for us to reimagine and to remake ourselves, piece by piece and step by step. By advancing along this path we diminish the dependence of transformation on calamity. The direct appeal of the second way is the promise of moving forward in the zone in which the institutional conditions of material progress intersect the institutional requirements for the weakening of entrenched social divisions and hierarchies. The proximate aim of the program of the second way is the further cracking open of society to democracy and experimentalism. Its ulterior objective is the further divinization of humanity.


9. The Hidden Difference

"The Hidden Difference" is a note on conjectures relating to a project on which Charles Sabel and I are now working. Why do some contemporary societies succeed at both market-oriented and "dirigiste" approaches to economic organization whereas other countries make a mess of market-oriented and "dirigiste" approaches alike? This question serves as the starting point for a reconsideration of certain dominant assumptions about the institutional and cultural bases of worldly success. The revision of these premises provides the programmatic imagination with a more secure basis.