The Selden Society

About the Selden Society


      The Society was founded in 1887 ‘to encourage study and advance the knowledge of the history of English Law’. It publishes annual volumes of source materials such as law reports, court records and other kinds of professional literature. In each case the text is provided with a translation (where the original is Latin or French) and with full indices and other apparatus. The introductions to these volumes comprise a substantial proportion of the research done in modern times on the history of the common law; and they and the materials themselves are important for social, economic, constitutional, and linguistic historians, and also for students of local and family history. The Society has in fact averaged a little more than a volume a year; and 2013 saw the publication of the 128th volume in the series, the whole of which, as of this writing, remains available in print.

      There are now almost 1700 members in some 30 countries, mainly the United Kingdom, the United States and the Commonwealth. These members include, in addition to legal historians, professional and amateur, many distinguished judges and practicing lawyers, together with most of the major university, court and official libraries in the English-speaking world.

      For the annual subscription a member receives without further charge the annual volume, the annual report of the Council of the Society and occasional literature, including published lectures. A member is also entitled to concessional rates on other publications.

      For further information about the Selden Society and its programs, see below and the Society’s London website.

Selden Society Officers







The Right Honourable Lord Judge



Dr Paul Brand, F.B.A..

The Right Honourable Beverley McLachlin, C.J.



Mr David Ainger

The Hon. Morris S. Arnold

Mr Richard Bagley

Professor Sir John Baker, Q.C., F.B.A.

Professor C.W. Brooks

Professor M.T. Clanchy, F.B.A.

Professor W.R. Cornish,Q.C., F.B.A.

Dr David Crook

Professor Charles Donahue, Jr.

Sir Matthew Farrer

Professor Richard H. Helmholz, F.B.A.

Mr John Howell, Q.C

Professor J.G. Hudson

Dr R.F. Hunnisett

Professor D.J. Ibbetson, F.B.A.

Dr Susanne Jenks

Mr Nicholas Le Poidevin, Q.C.

The Rev. Professor A.D.E. Lewis

Professor Michael Lobban

Professor Janet Loengard

Dr Michael Macnair

Dr John Maddicott, F.B.A.

His Honour E.F. Monier-Williams

The Rt Hon. Lord Mustill, F.B.A.

Mr M.J. Prichard

Professor Rebecca Probert

Professor P.G. Stein, Q.C., F.B.A.

Mr A.C. Taussig

Mr P.W.E. Taylor, Q.C.

Professor Dr R.C. Baron van Caenegem, F.B.A.

The Rev. Professor T.G. Watkin

Mr D.E.C. Yale, Q.C., F.B.A.


Literary Director

Dr. N.G. Jones


Honorary Treasurer

Mr Christopher Wright, (Edwin Coe, 2 Stone Buildings, Lincoln’s Inn, London WC2A 3TH)



     Mr Victor Tunkel

     (School of Law, Queen Mary, Mile End Road, London E1  4NS)



Mr David Ainger         Mr A.C. Taussig

 Mr Christopher Wright


Honorary Secretaries and Treasurers Overseas


Australia:  Mr David Bratchford, Supreme Court Library, Brisbane, Queensland 4000

Canada:  Professor Margaret McGlynn, University of Western Ontario, London N6A  5C2

New Zealand:  Mr Francis Dawson, Faculty of Law, University of Auckland, Auckland

United States:  Professor Joshua Tate, SMU Dedman School of Law, 3315 Daniel Avenue,

Dallas TX 75205


Honorary Correspondents Overseas




A.C.T.:   Dr Russell Smith, Australian Institute of Criminology, Griffith 2603

New South Wales:  The Hon. Mr Justice Peter Young, Supreme Court, Sydney, 2001

The Hon. L.J. Priestley, Q.C., 53 Martin Place, Sydney 2000

Queensland:  The Hon. Justice Hugh Fraser, Supreme Court, Brisbane, 4000

South Australia:  Professor Wilfrid Prest, Law School, University of Adelaide, 5005

Victoria: The Hon. Sir Daryl Dawson, 63 Gipps Street, East Melbourne 3002

Western Australia:  Mr Anthony Dickey, Q.C., Wickham Chambers, 28 The Esplanade, Perth, 6000




Alberta:  Professor Louis A. Knafla, Department of History, University of Calgary, T2N  1N4

Manitoba:  Professor DeLloyd J. Guth, Faculty of Law, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg R3T  2N2

Ontario:  Mr E. Joel Thompson, 51 Juliana Court, Toronto, M6S  2R3

Quebec:  Mr John G. O’Connor, 801 Chemin St-Louis, Quebec, G1S  1C1


United States of America


Arizona:  Professor Jonathan Rose, College of Law, Arizona State University, Tempe, 85287

Arkansas:  The Hon. Morris S. Arnold, U.S. Court of Appeals, Little Rock, 72203

California:  Professor Daniel Klerman, University of Southern California Law School, Los Angeles, 90089

Colorado:  Dr Thomas F. Cope, 1700 Lincoln Street, Suite 4100, Denver 80203

District of Columbia:  Professor Peter Jaszi, Washington College of Law, American University,

4400 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., 20016

Connecticut:  Professor John H. Langbein, Yale Law School, New Haven, 06520

Illinois:  Mr David W. Maher, Sonnenschein Nath & Rosenthal, 8000 Sears Tower, Chicago, 60606-6404

Iowa:  Professor Thomas P. Gallanis, Boyd Law Building, University of Iowa, Iowa City, 52242

Kansas:  Professor Michael Hoeflich, School of Law, University of Kansas, Laurence, 66045

Louisiana:  The Hon. Donald E. Walter, Federal Building, 500 Fannin Street, Shreveport, 71101

Maryland:  Professor Oscar S. Gray, School of Law, University of Maryland, Baltimore, 21201

Massachusetts:  Professor Daniel R. Coquillette, Harvard Law School, Cambridge, 02138

Michigan:  Professor Byron D. Cooper, School of Law, University of Detroit Mercy, 48226

Missouri:  Judge Robert Dierker, 22nd Judicial Circuit, 1114 Market Street, St Louis, 63101

New Jersey:  Professor Stanley N. Katz, Woodrow Wilson School, Princeton University, 08544

New York:   Mr John D. Gordan III, 1133 Park Avenue, New York, 10128

Ohio:  Professor Michael D. Gordon, Dept. of History, Denison University, Granville, 43023

Mr Bruce Tyler Wick, 1525 Leader Building, Superior at East 6th, Cleveland, 44114

Oregon:  Dean Maurice J. Holland, School of Law, University of Oregon, Eugene 97403

Pennsylvania:  Mr Jon F. LaFaver, 120 Carol Street, New Cumberland, 17013

Rhode Island:   The Hon. Joseph R. Weisberger, Supreme Court, Providence, 02903

Tennessee:   Mr Kevin Steiling, Attorney-General’s Office, PO Box 20207, Nashville, 37202

Texas:  Mr Nelson R. Block, Winstead Sechrest & Minnick, 2400 Bank One Center, Houston, 77002

Utah:  Professor Thomas Lund, College of Law, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, 84112

Virginia:  Professor W. Hamilton Bryson, School of Law, University of Richmond, 23173

Washington:  Mr John A. Gose, 5400 Columbia Seafirst Center, 701 Fifth Avenue, Seattle, 98104


Other Countries


Austria, Germany and Switzerland:  Professor Dr Reinhard Zimmermann, Max Planck Institut, Hamburg, D-20148, Germany

Benelux Countries: Professor R.C. Baron van Caenegem, Veurestraat 47, B9051 Afsnee, Belgium

France: Professor Anne Lefebvre-Teillard, Université Paris II, 12 Place du Panthéon, 75231 Paris

Italy:  Dr Paola Maffei, University of Siena, 53100

Japan:  Dr Takeshi Kido, 4-14-5 Minami-cho, Kichijoji, Musashino-shi, Tokyo

Selden Home Page

About the Selden Society

Selden Publications

Ordering Information

Contact us

Harvard Law School

This page last updated 08/01/14. Contact Rosemary Spang with comments.
URL: /programs/selden_society/about.html.
Copyright © 1999–2014 by The Selden Society. All rights reserved.