Spring 2022

MEDIEVAL STUDIES 119:
CONSTITUTIONAL AND LEGAL
HISTORY OF MEDIEVAL
CONTINENTAL EUROPE

Lecture and Class Outlines and Assignment Links

Professor Donahue

 

Mr. Kuhelj Bugaric




The outlines contain three types of material: (1) facts or bibliography about people or events that we will mention in class (‘kings, and battles, and dates’); (2) documents, or summaries thereof, that we will be studying in class (good for preparing for class); and (3) genuine outlines of the lectures. The outlines up to the spring break are those for the prerecorded lectures, which are also there up the break. For the classes that have not yet been held, I give here the lecture outlines as they are currently conceived, keyed to dates on which we will have the class. There are also outlines for the section meetings. Once the class has been held, I will try to post the outlines that I used in class if they are different, fuller, or more reflective of what was actually said in class. After that, they reflect the course as it was given in 2020. Lecture outlines don’t display the same way in different web browsers. These are optimized for Firefox; the spacing will be a little off in Internet Explorer, and the upper-case Roman numeral won’t show. I think I have most of the images that I used the last time I gave the course in the outlines. Most of the images that we used are there. Some of them are embedded in the outlines; some of them are reached through hyperlinks in the outlines; some of them are in a separate PDF called ‘slides’.

 

The date of the class for this year’s course is linked to the outline for the class. After the spring break, two outlines are given when I have combined the shorter classes in 2020 for the longer classes this year.

 

We have included a cell for the undergraduate section meetings as if they were on Fridays. The outlines for these meetings, where they exist, and the documents assigned are much more subject to change than are those for the regular classes. Think of them as the kind of thing that you might want to talk about in section. Mr. Kuhelj Bugaric will email you with more specific assignments for each section.

 

Under the outlines there are one or more links to the documents in the coursepack assigned for the class. The documents frequently contain more than we will discuss in class, because they also include documents about which you might want to write your papers. The outlines usually give a pretty good idea of where the class will focus, as does the syllabus.

 

We have included links to many of the secondary readings listed in the syllabus as they are in syllabus, at the beginning of the week. As we say in the syllabus, focus on the documentary material. It's more important than the secondary reading. Where more than one secondary reading is given, e.g., Bellomo and van Caenegem, they are alternatives, but they frequently provide different viewpoints.

 

Below the links to the documents are links to the prerecorded lectures and below that to the slides that accompany them. At least on my browser, the slides have to be downloaded; they will not appear on the screen if you just clck on them.

 

 

Bellomo, pp. 1–26
Van Caenegem, pp. 1–15
Padoa-Schioppa, pp. 1–23
Watson, pp. 1–38

Mon. Jan. 24 (2022)
Documents, Part II
Lecture 1a – Introduction
Slides 1a
Lecture 1b – Christianity
Slides 1b

Wed., Jan. 26 (2022)
Documents, Part I
Documents, Part XX
Lecture 2 – Roman Law
Slides 2

Fri., Jan. 28
Documents, Part I

Padoa-Schioppa, pp. 24–37

Mon., Jan. 31 (2022)
Documents, Part III.A
Lecture 3 – Aethelberht
Slides 3

Wed., Feb. 02 (2022)
Documents, Part III.B
Lecture 4 – Gundobad
Slides 4

Fri., Feb. 04 (2020)
Documents, Part III

Bellomo, pp. 27–43
Berman, pp. 85–119, 273–332
Padoa-Schioppa, pp. 38–70
Van Caenegem, pp. 16–29
Vinogradoff, pp. 11–42

Mon., Feb. 07 (2022)
Documents, Part IV
Documents, Part V
Lecture 5 – Feudalism
Slides 5

Wed., Feb. 09 (2022)
Documents, Part V
Documents, Part VI
Lecture 6 – Reform
Slides 6

Fri., Feb. 11 (2020)
Documents, Part V
Documents, Part VI

Bellomo, pp. 44–61, 89–117
Vinogradoff, pp. 43–70
Padoa-Schioppa, pp. 71–94

Mon., Feb. 14 (2022)
Lecture 7a – Institutions
Slides 7a

Wed., Feb. 16 (2022)
Documents, Part VII
Lecture 7b – RLGlossators
Slides 7b

Fri., Feb. 18
Documents, Part VII

Bellomo, pp. 61–88
Padoa-Schioppa, pp. 95–150
Van Caenegem, pp. 30–114
Vinogradoff, pp. 71–96

Mon., Feb. 21 (2022)
Documents, Part VIII
Lecture 8 – CLGlossators
Slides 8

Wed., Feb. 23 (2022)
Documents, Part IX
Lecture 9 – RomCanProcedure
Slides9

Fri., Feb. 25 (2020)
Fri., Feb. 25 (2020)
Documents, Part VIII
Documents, Part IX

Mon., Feb. 28 (2022)
Documents, Part XIV.A–B
Lecture 10 – Smith c. Dolling
Slides 10

Wed., Mar. 02 (2022)
Documents, Part X.A
Lecture 11 – Usatges_Barcelona
Slides 11

Fri., Mar. 04
Documents, Part XIV.A–B

Mon., Mar. 07 (2022)
Documents, Part X.B–C
Lecture 12 – 2FrenchCustumals
Slides 12

Wed., Mar. 09 (2022)
Documents, Part XI
Lecture 13 – Imperium
Slides 13

Fri., Mar. 11
Documents, Part X.A
Documents, Part X.B–C

Spring Break

Bellomo, pp. 116–161
Padoa-Schioppa, pp. 151–228

Mon., Mar. 21 (2022)
Documents, Part XII
Documents, Part XIII
Lecture 14 14c_15c_Intro
Slides 14

Wed., Mar. 23 (2022)
Documents, Part XIII
Documents, Part XII.A, C, D
Documents, Part XIV.E
Lecture 15 – Commentators 1
Slides 15

Fri., Mar. 25
Documents, Part XI

Mon., Mar. 28 (2022)
Documents, Part XIV.C
Documents, Part XIV.D
Lecture 16 – Commentators 2
Slides 16

Wed., Mar. 30 (2022)
Documents, Part XIV.F
Display Catalogue
Lecture 17 – Marradi (1780)
Slides 17

Fri., Apr. 01 (2020)
Documents, Part XIV.C
Documents, Part XIV.D

Bellomo, pp. 162–173
Watson, pp. 53–82
Padoa-Schioppa, pp. 229–293

Mon., Apr. 04 (2022)
Documents, Part XV
Documents, Part XVI.C
Lecture 18 – Humanists
Slides 18

Wed., Apr. 06 (2022)
Documents, Part XVI.A–B
Documents, Part XVI.D
Lecture 19 – Ordonnances
Slides 19

Fri., Apr. 08 (2020)
Documents, Part XV

Watson, pp. 83–125

Mon., Apr. 11 (2022)
Documents, Part XVII
Lecture 20 – 17th Century, A1
Lecture 20 – 17th Century, B1
Slides 20

Wed., Apr. 13 (2022)
Documents, Part XVIII
Lecture 21 – Pierson v. Post
Slides 21

Fri., Apr. 15
Documents, Part XVIII

Padoa-Schioppa, pp. 294–401

Van Caenegem, pp. 115–169
Watson, pp. 126–130

Mon., Apr. 18 (2022)
Documents, Part XVIII (cont’d)
Documents, Part XIX
Lecture 22 – Domat and Pothier
Slides 22

Wed., Apr. 20 (2022)
Documents, Part XX
Lecture 23a – French Code
Lecture 23b – German Code
Slides 23

Fri., Apr. 22 (2020)
Documents, Part XIX

Van Caenegem, pp. 170–196

Mon., Apr. 25 (2022)
Lecture 24 – Final (printed text)

Wed., Apr. 27
Review

1 Part A lasts 45 minutes and then crashes. Part B picks up where Part A left off and runs for 39 minutes.




[Home] [Syllabus] [Information and Announcements]

URL:  http://www.law.harvard.edu/faculty/cdonahue/courses/CLH/clhfas/lectures/index_lec_CLH.html
last modified:  04/20/22

Copyright © 2013–2022 Charles Donahue, Jr.