Spring 2013

Law 42100A

Legal History: Continental Legal History

LECTURE OUTLINES AND ASSIGNMENT LINKS

 

These outlines contain three types of material: (1) facts or bibliography about people or events that we will mention in class (‘kings, and battles, and dates’); (2) documents, or summaries thereof, that we will be studying in class (good for preparing for class); and (3) (but not always) genuine outlines of the lectures. For the classes that have not yet been held, I give here the lecture outlines as they are currently conceived, keyed to dates on which we will have the class.  There are also outlines for the section meetings. Once the class has been held, I will try to post the outlines that I used in class if they are different, fuller, or more reflective of what was actually said in class. The outlines are now complete and up-to-date for the course as it was given this year. Lecture outlines don’t display the same way in different web browsers. These are optimized for Firefox; the spacing will be a little off in Internet Explorer, and the upper-case Roman numeral won’t show. I think I have most of the images in the outlines; some of them are embedded in the outlines; some of them are reached through hyperlinks in the outlines; some of them are in a separate PDF called ‘slides’.

 

The date of the class is linked to the outline for the class. Under this there are one or more links to the documents in the coursepack assigned for the class and/or to some of the secondary readings listed in the syllabus for the class. The pdfs of the coursepack don’t quite pick up all the fancy formatting that the paper version has, but all the text is there. As we say in the syllabus, focus on the documentary material. It’s more important than the secondary reading. Where two secondary readings are given, e.g., Bellomo and van Caenegem, they are alternatives. I have linked the assigned documents and readings up to the spring break. I’ll fill in the others later.

 

Mon., 28 Jan.
Bellomo, pp. 1–26
Van Caenegem, pp. 1–15

Tue., 29 Jan.
Documents, Part I
Documents, Part XX
Documents, Part II.A

Wed., 30 Jan.
Documents, Part I.A
Documents, Part XX
Watson, pp. 1–38

Mon., 4 Feb.
Documents, Part III.A

Tue., 5 Feb.
Documents, Part I
Documents, Part XX
Documents, Part II.B–C

Wed., 6 Feb.
Documents, Part III.B

Mon., 11 Feb.
Documents, Part IV
Bellomo, pp. 27–43

Tue., 12 Feb.
Documents, Part III
Documents, Part VI
Van Caenegem, pp. 16–29
Vinogradoff, pp. 11–42

Wed., 13 Feb.
Documents, Part V
Documents, Part VI
Berman, pp. 85–119, 273–332

Mon., 18 Feb.
Bellomo, pp. 61–88
Vinogradoff, pp. 71–96

Tue., 19 Feb.
Documents, Part II.B–C
Documents, Part III
Documents, Part VI
Documents, Part VII
Documents, Part VIII

Wed., 20 Feb.
Documents, Part VII
Bellomo, pp. 44–61, 89–117
Vinogradoff, pp. 43–70

Mon., 25 Feb.
Documents, Part VIII

Tue., 26 Feb.
Documents, Part IX
Documents, Part XIV.A–B

Wed., 27 Feb.
Documents, Part IX
Van Caenegem, pp. 30–114

Mon., 4 Mar.
Slides
Documents, Part XIV.A–B

Tue., 5 Mar.
Documents, Part X

Wed., 6 Mar.
Slides
Documents, Part X.A

Mon., 11 Mar.
Slides
Documents, Part X.B–C

Tue., 12 Mar.
Documents, Part XI

Wed., 13 Mar.
Documents, Part XI

Spring Break

Mon., 25 Mar.
Documents, Part XII
Documents, Part XIII

Tue., 26 Mar.
Documents, Part XI
Documents, Part XII.C

Wed., 27 Mar.
Documents, Part XII.A, C–D
Documents, Part XIV.E

Mon., 1 Apr.
Documents, Part XIII

Tue., 2 Apr.
Documents, Part XIV.F

Wed., 3 Apr.
Documents, Part XIV.C
Documents, Part XIV.D

Mon., 8 Apr.
Documents, Part XV

Tue., 9 Apr.
Documents, Part XV
Documents, Part XVI
Documents, Part XVII

Wed., 10 Apr.
Documents, Part XVI.C

Mon., 15 Apr.

Tue., 16 Apr.
Documents, Part XIX
Documents, Part XX

Wed., 17 Apr.
Documents, Part XVI.A–B
Documents, Part XVI.D
Documents, Part XVII

Mon., 22 Apr.

Tue., 23 Apr.
Documents, Part XX

Wed., 24 Apr.
Documents, Part XVIII

Mon., 29 Apr.

 

 

Take-home Exam (Word document)

 




[Home Page]  [Syllabus]  [Lectures]  [Information and Announcements]

 

URL:  http://www.law.harvard.edu/faculty/cdonahue/courses/CLH/clhlaw/lectures/index_lec_CLH.html
last modified:  04/28/13

Copyright © 2011–2013 Charles Donahue, Jr.